The Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey

by Laurie Dotson 

 

BEEpothecary Wildflower Honey

I am no writer, but I love to talk. I will talk your ear off.  If we are conversing about things I’m passionate about…HoneyBees, BEEpothecary, my faith, food, my family and friends, and not in that order; get comfortable, because we are going to chat awhile.

Most months, Beepothecary will be at some sort of festival or event. At these events we are talking to customers all day.  Each person gets an education on the Honeybee and Propolis.  During most those conversations, my mouth can’t keep up with brain. I’m talking so fast, I forget to breathe…Whooo Unh, Whooo Unh, Whooo Unh!   Jeannie and Pete have a calmer personality and delivery.  I’m envious of them!   And then there is Steve. Steve has even a more laid back delivery. Jeannie always says Steve can watch grass grow…’nough said.:)   Partly, I’m trying to get out as much information as I can, before my tiny window of opportunity diminishes with a customer. Most of the time I get the “wow” reaction and then I know they are interested in hearing more about our Honeybees-Propolis passion.    With all that being said. our throats and mouths will dry out.  So, our go-to products are: BEEpothecary Throat Spray and Wildflower Honey!  So talker of all shapes and kinds, you, too, can find relief from dry mouth issues, sore throats, bad breath and more.  THROAT

I guess, I need to stop talking and start cooking!

BEEpothecary Wildflower Honey
Yesterday, was a friends birthday and he is a big football fan.  The kind of fan who has seven DVR’s to record every football game, daily, weekly, all season long from the NFL football satellite package he has. We can’t forget all collage football too. And then he watches every single one!  Yicks with a capital Y!  To much for me:)     So I thought,  I would make a Football appetizer for the birthday boy –

IMG_4039

IMG_4041

Baked Salted Pepper Chicken Wings with two different Honey drizzles

Ingredients

2 pounds chicken wings

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Preparation

Preheat grill to 350° to 400° (medium-high) heat. Toss together wings and oil in a large bowl. Sprinkle with salt and pepper; toss to coat. (The birthday boy can’t have pepper, so I omitted it)  Bake wings, 25 to 30 minutes or until skin is crisp and wings are done, turning occasionally.

I doubled our batch!

Toss with desired Honey Drizzle.

Desired Honey Drizzle:

1.  Cider Vinegar-Brown Butter Honey Drizzle (the Birthday Boys drizzle)

1/4 cup organic butter

1/2 cup local raw honey

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

Preparation

Cook butter in a saucepan over medium-high heat 5 minutes or until brown and fragrant. Transfer to a small bowl, and cool 5 minutes. Cook honey and vinegar in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring often, 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Whisk in browned butter.

or

2.  Thai Chili-Lemon Honey Drizzle (My drizzle)

1/2 cup local raw honey

1/4 cup bottled thai chili sauce

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Preparation

Cook honey, chili sauce, and lemon juice over medium heat, stirring often, 2 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

OHHHHHH sooooo Gooooood!

To my Friends, Laurie

Proverbs 18:24 (New International Version)

 A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.
 
