The Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey

by Laurie Dotson 

IT’S Spring!  I love this time of year. It starts in February sometime…You know the weather! You open up the door, to what you think is going to be fridged, cold winter air, but you are surprised with a warm 50 degrees that you feel crosses your face. You begin to smell and hear the first signs of spring peeking into your backyard.

My dream Lavender garden:)

My dream Lavender garden:)

Let me repeat that in different words, the on and off of warm days, along with that sweet smell of purple flowers growing in your garden plots.  aahhh!  Such Sweetness!  lol

 So, I feel Spring is here, even though, the weather man says we  are getting a nor-eastern tonight.

Bring it on! One last hoorah, winter. ONE LAST HOORAH! I mean it!!!!

Spring brings herbs, plants and Lavender!!!  I am a fein for lavender! I love the smell, the look, and the feel that this little flower produces.  I’m getting ready for spring planting and I need little inspiration!  So here is a yummy sweet treat thats a bit on the unordinary but a lotta-bit on the delicious!

Don’t for get to Check out our Marketplace:  mkt.com/beepothecary

Sweet Honey Lavender and Coconut Treats

honey lavender and coconut balls

INGREDIENTS

7 oz Package of Unsweetened Coconut Flakes

2 TBSP HONEY

1 cup Dried Plums or Figs – I used plums, because thats what I had in the cupboard.

1/4 cup Flax seeds

2 TBSP Chia seeds

1 TBSP Lavender buds

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Using a food processor,  blend the coconut into a powder, then add lavender and blend some more.  Then add figs or plums until well blended. Finally add the honey, flax seed and chia seed.  Finish by pulsing until well blended.  Ball up with a 1 Tbsp cookie scoop. place on platter and serve or scoop and place in sealed container and ‘frigerate.

I eat three of these with a glass of water as a mid-day snack!  This recipe is a great way to get protein, fiber, and antioxidants.

Your Health…Powered by BEES!

Blessings, Laurie –

Check out out Marketplace:  mkt.com/beepothecary

John 1:16    For from His fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.

 
