Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey by Laurie Dotson

Today, I walked out to the back of our property, to feed the girls (Chickens).  We love our girls.  We have 12 laying hens.

I have named them all, but I could not tell you from day to day who is who.  haha! They are all “Girlies!” to me.  Back in March, I had my husband, Peter, build me a portable chicken coop.  I wanted it for a couple of reasons.March 2013 Chicken coopTo Raise Chicken and to have a coop on wheels.

Chickz rules coop

We wanted the girls to have a fresh salad everyday

Chicken Coop with Chickensand we get the benefit of less bugs in our yard and a well fertilized lawn.  Now don’t you want to get chicken?  I love our visits, they love my treats.  I love to pat them they love to jump on my back.  I push their coop a coops length down the line and they quiet down and eat the fresh greens.

Everyone is happy! 🙂

Chicken coop in back yard 2013 Our partners and friends,  Jeannie and Steve, have 24 girls.  Their coop is stationary and the girls seem just as happy.

So, you can imagine how many eggs we can gather in a weeks time.

Egg fresh

That Brings me to this great recipe.  I love finding creative ways of cooking up eggs.  I found this recipe on Facebook.  A girlfriend sent me the link and I had to try it!  Two thumbs up from this cook to your kitchen.

I have now prepared it a couple of different ways.  Whatever you like, add it and it will be umm umm good!

Baked Egg in Avocado

Baked Egg in an Avocado

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients – Serves 1 or 2:

  • 1 Avocado
  • 2 Eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • optional- chives, bacon bits, herbs or cheese

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Slice the avocado in half and remove the stone. Keep the skin on, as you will be baking it in the skin.
  2. Scoop out some of the flesh of each half, to make room for the egg.
  3. Crack an egg into each half and sprinkle over a little salt and pepper
  4. Put in a oven that is preheated to 425F/220C and bake for around 10 minutes (depending how you like your egg)
  5. Serve with some really good bread and honey

http://health.howstuffworks.com/wellness/food-nutrition/facts/health-benefits-of-eggs.htm

Happy Eating !

You must follow the Lord your God and revere only him; and you must observe his commandments, obey him, serve him, and remain loyal to him. Deuteronomy 13:4 NET
