Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey by Laurie Dotson

Today is Labor Day and I get a day off of work…or do I?  I guess, I will not have school work but I do have farm chores, house work and final preparation for the Lithopolis HoneyFest. Sept 6-7th.   We are also extracting honey today.

Active heathy, hive box

Active heathy, hive box

It’s always fun to see how much we will get.  The bummer is, we had one of our hives swarm.  A swarm is when a cluster of bees leave the hive to find another place to house their queen and start a new hive.  Why does this happen, you ask?  Either because of sickness, pest problems, a weak queen, or over population.  But before, I could get out to the hive and save the deserted honey. It was robbed of all its honey by other bees.  I’m hoping the robbers were from our other hives within our apiary.  Our goal this year, is to get our bees through the winter. We have not been luck with winterizing our bees in the past.

How a Hive is set up in the spring

How a Hive is set up in the spring and summer. You would add more hive boxes to the top as the bees multiple and honey production getting greater.

~Later this morning~ So, we just got back in from pulling frames for extraction.  Sad, Sad, News!  There was not enough honey to take. The Queen is laying broad and the hive is active. We felt that the bees needed all the honey they had and what they will be producing to help them through the winter.  We did hear that our Michigan Partners did very well. 30 gallons!  We look forward to eating that when we can.   Not the best of news!  Not a good year for bees either.   Oh Well!

Here’s some good news!  I have an ole friend, who sent me this recipe.  It is perfect for snacking during extracting. (haha, that rhymed – If you know me well enough. I’d never make a good rapper, because I can’t rhyme.  I end up making up word with the same endings sound) anywhooo!  many boo! hehe_ Deb, my twin sister, does the same thing!  On to the Recipe…

Anna Parks thought of me when she saw this recipe. I’ll share it with you

Thank you, Anna

 http://www.iheartnaptime.net/peanut-butter-honey-dip/

Peanut Butter Honey Fluff

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all natural peanut butter
  • 1 (8 oz) container lite cool whip
  • 2 ½ – 3 tbsp honey

INSTRUCTIONS

In a bowl, whip peanut butter and cool whip together until fluffy. Beat in 2 tablespoons of honey (or more for a stronger honey flavor). Beat for another 2 minutes until fluffy. Spoon into a serving bowl and drizzle honey over the top. Serve with fruit or graham crackers.

Happy Eating !

Luke 12:32

“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father is well pleased to give you the kingdom.
