Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey by Laurie Dotson

This spring, here in Ohio, the weather was wet and cold for at less 5 weeks. Our bees had a rough start. We had to feed them a high protein sugar water.  When it rains, bees don’t leave the hive.  In addition to that, the flowers from plants and trees emerged later then in previous springs. When the flowers did emerge, they came all at once. We were not given a long continuous nectar and pollen season. So our bees, were not able to produce a large production of honey for a  early summer extraction.  We have had to wait and care for our bees with a gentle hand this summer.  Good news though, we are looking forward to extracting honey in the next few days.  Crossing our fingers and hoping for a large production.

With the wet long spring,  my garden could not be tilled by Budd the old farmer, until the ground had dried out. So my garden went in almost a month late.  I was not able to put in spring lettuces, broccoli and other cool weather plants and seeds.  My good friend and one of the partners in Hive & Honey BEEpothecary, Steve Saum,  had planted indoors, tomato plants, early this spring for transplant.  He had given me 35 plants and then I had another 20 plant reseed themselves from last year.  My zucchini, summer and winter squash, melons, beans, and corn are just now reaching their peak  production of fruit.  So I have an abundance of gardening and fruits that need a home.  I have been giving away veggies to people in need, here in my community.  God is good and knew when this garden needed to be planted.  I had my ideas of when but, God’s timing and plans are always far better than mine.    Thank you God!  If you know someone in need, I have gifts!   Let me know!

So with an abundance of squash, I have made this recipes multiple times and finally revised it, to where I love it.

Honey zucchini butter bread

Honey Zucchini Butter Bread

Recipe makes 2 – 9×5 inch loaves

Ingredients

  • 3 cups self-rising flour

  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 3 eggs

  • 1 2/3 cups white sugar

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

  • 1/2 cup melted butter

  • 1/2 cup honey

  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract

  • 3 cups grated unpeeled zucchini

  • 1 cup chopped walnut

  • 1/2 cup flaked coconut

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans.

  2. Stir together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a bowl until blended. Set aside.

  3. Whisk eggs, sugar, oil, butter, honey, and vanilla together in a large bowl. Stir in zucchini, walnuts, and coconut. Add the flour mixture and stir until well combined. Divide the batter between the prepared loaf pans.

  4. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Cool completely. Store loaves overnight in plastic bags for best flavor.

Happy Eating and Harvesting!

Numbers 11:5

“We remember the fish we used to eat for free in Egypt. And we had all the cucumbers, melons, leeks, onions, and garlic
