Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

Research, study, ponder, brainstorm

Design, create, cook, write

Collect, organize, purchase, build

Decisions, decisions!

Who knew the creative process could be so much work!

But it’s still fun!

Hope the payoff will be worth it!

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea

 

The Dotsons and the Saums are working hard to get ready for the kick-off of our Hive and Honey Beepothecary Products at the local Lithopolis (Ohio) HoneyFest, September 6 and 7, 2013.  Laurie and I are cooking up recipes for health supplements, skin care, leather care and soap.  Steve is busy building things we need like soap molds, display items and signs.  Peter is advising on the technology and organizational issues and lending a helping hand when not at work.  I’ve just read that propolis and beeswax are good for leather treatment, so that is going to be our next endeavor!  We are having fun working together, creating useful products and discovering more and more uses for hive products.

Hmm! Do I like the smell?

Hmm! Do I like the smell?

Recently, we held a product test night with our family and friends.  We conducted blind comparison tests of our products with others on the market and had our “test subjects” rate each product using a Google Drive questionnaire form.

Filling in the quesionnaire

Filling in the questionnaire

The results tallied automatically, so we could see how all participants rated our products and the market products.  In all but one case, our products beat the others, hands down!

This was exciting and encouraging for us!  And our friends and family seemed to have a great time trying all our products and giving us their feedback and suggestions!  We got some good ideas for improvements and other flavors and scents to try.

How does this feel in my skin?

How does this feel on my skin?

Even the grandkids got involved!

Even the grand kids got involved!

We are continuing to share the incredible benefits of honey and propolis with family members and friends.  We recently took some propolis tincture and oil to an aunt in South Carolina, to try for her asthma, when nothing else is helping.  Steve’s sister in Oregon is trying it as well, with her boys for their asthma.  We used propolis oil for sunburn at the beach on vacation.  Last week, I had my teeth cleaned and ended up with a sore, puffy area on my gums.  A few drops of propolis applied that evening and I had instant pain relief and the swelling was gone the next morning!  I’m telling you, this is miracle stuff!

Psalms 51

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,  and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation  and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

