Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey by Laurie Dotson

Hello Waffles, Mama’s here to eat you up!!

Oh, how I love the smell of waffles cooking in the griddle.   I enjoy spreading the cold butter and watching it melt, in each crispy, square crevasse .  I’m one to devour my first waffle and then taking my sweet time with the second.  Melted butter with warm honey and cinnimon or fresh maple syrup. ~ Oh Lord, help this girl! She a bit delirious with Joy!   Not everyone likes their waffles like I do.  So, I allow my family to choose their own toppings ~ buffet-style.  We like syrup,  jams, fruits, cinnamon and powdered sugar, toasted nuts, and, if I want to splurge and become queen for a day. I put out the whipped cream and chocolate chips.  Lordy, Lordy, Lordy!  A whole lot of goodness all over the house!  🙂

PS.  I have a secret!   My waffles are healthy waffles… don’t tell!

Get in my belly!

Get in my belly!

Oatmeal-Honey Waffles

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked regular oats

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour or spelt flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 2 large eggs, separated

  • 1 1/2 cups milk or coconut milk

  • 4 tablespoons melted butter

  • 2 tablespoons honey

  • Toppings: butter, maple syrup

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Bake oats in a single layer in a shallow pan 10 minutes or until lightly toasted, stirring after 5 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack 10 minutes. Process oats in a blender or food processor 30 seconds or until finely ground.

2. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl; stir in ground oats.

3. Beat egg whites at high speed with an electric mixer until soft peaks form.

4. Whisk together egg yolks, milk, butter, and honey in a medium bowl; gently stir into oat mixture. Gently fold in egg whites just until blended.5. Cook batter in a preheated, oiled waffle iron until golden. Serve each waffle with 1 tsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. maple syrup, if desired.

Happy Eating !

Psalm 30:5   New English Translation (NET)

 For his anger lasts only a brief moment, and his good favor restores one’s life.  One may experience sorrow during the night, but joy arrives in the morning.

