Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey by Laurie Dotson

This Blog site is about the HoneyBee Hives and how to use all of it’s elements for living  a better and healthy life.

But, There are times when nature has to take its course, and “healthy” doesn’t seem to be in the picture…or, I suppose you could say…I have a heathy cold! haha!

I have been under the weather for the last ten days.  It’s the common cold, but man oh man, has this virus really kicked my butt.  I’m a good beekeeper who is using everything from my hives: Honey, Pollen and Propolis.  This strain of virus is hard core!  I took honey or beebread every time I started coughing. Did you know that honey is antimicrobial, antioxidant, and hygroscopic which all make honey a popular food as well as a medicine. The BeeBread, is a mixture of Honey and Pollen, and is loaded with protein for energy.   I’ve also been taking the Hive & Honey BEEpothecary Propolis Tincture by the dropper full, down my throat, for the soreness and the antibiotics properties. Propolis is collected from tree sap and various other plants by honeybees. It contains a wide range of vitamins and minerals and is believed to be an antioxidant as well. Propolis is useful as an antibiotic and antifungal supplement with several potential health benefits. I used the Hive & Honey BEEpothecary Throat spray, which tastes so good, to help sooth and numb the scratchiness.  But when the cough was at its worse, I took Hive & Honey BEEpothecary Propolis oil and that would calm it down for a spell, because propolis has an antiseptic barrier. The cold is winding down and so…is my energy.  So Today, I need something refreshing with an extra boost of sunshine (energy) to get this new day started.

So how about a Strawberry and Pineapple Spilt Smoothie to cool down a sore throat.

Strawberry and Pineapple Spilt Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Pineapple-  I leave on the outer peel.  It’s loaded with fiber and vitamins
  • 5 Whole Strawberries
  • 1/2 Cup of Coconut Milk
  • 2 Tbsp of Honey or BeeBread
  • A Good Squirt of Chocolate Syrup
  • 2 Handfuls of Ice Cubes

Blend all ingredients together.  I find that the longer you blend, the creamery the smoothies become.  With the Vitamix blender, there is a setting for smoothie and it blends for a good while.

Pour and Enjoy

Honey Raspberry Kiwi Fruit Dip

Ingredients

  • 1  ripe kiwi, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup – unsweetened frozen raspberries
  • 1/2 cup – pure honey
  • 8 oz.  low-fat vanilla yogurt
  • Fresh fruit, for dipping

Directions

In the bowl of a food processor, combine kiwi, raspberries and honey; puree. Stir in yogurt. Serve with sliced fresh fruit (strawberries, pineapple, watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew melon, grapes, bananas, etc.)

I served it, on the side, with Scrambled Eggs and Toast

A great start for this day!

Happy Eating!

Philippians 4:4-7
“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

