Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

A pretty mat of springy green

And little white flowers abound.

Full of nutrients for fauna and man.

The chicks will gobble it down.

But as for me, it’s the bane of existence,

Smothering my plants all around.

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea

 

invasive chickweed!

invasive chickweed!

Can I just say, I have a love-hate relationship with chickweed!  This spring when the weather finally warmed up a bit, I went out to the back yard and found my big hosta bed covered in this dense mat of tiny green stems, leaves and white flowers.  Every year, it seems my flower beds get inundated with a different weed!   So I went to the computer to look up the latest weedy culprit.  I found that what I had was, chickweed!     It said that it was so named because chicks love it and it is good for them.  Great!…  so now I’m gonna feel guilty if I rip it all up, instead of saving it to give to the new chickens.  I decided to give some to the chicks to see if they really do like it.  Of course, they  LOVED it, which is why, I guess,  some are calling it “chick crack”!

Then, I read, that it is really quite valuable not just to livestock but as a wild-grown food source and herbal supplement for humans.  Doubly great – now that I’ve read it is wonderful in skin treatment.  Just the kind we are making and are busy infusing home-grown herbs into, to add to our honey, beeswax and propolis  health and skin care products.   So now what do I do?? It is choking out my hostas and coral bells!

Chick weed covering the walk back to the coop.

Chick weed covering the walk back to the coop.

When I set out to start weeding, I decided that it had to go in my hosta bed.  As I pulled it up, I saved a lot of it to dry for our oil infusions, and gave some of it to the chicks.  I decided it looked kinda pretty around the stepping-stones leading around the garage to the  coop.  So the compromise is, I will leave this patch of chickweed to give treats to the chicks and to save for our skin

care oils.  The rest is going bye-bye.  And let me tell you, it was a PAIN to pull out.

 

 

 

Psalm 65

9 You visit the earth and water it;  you greatly enrich it; the river of God is full of water; you provide their grain,   for so you have prepared it.
10 You water its furrows abundantly, settling its ridges, softening it with showers,  and blessing its growth.
11 You crown the year with your bounty; your wagon tracks overflow with abundance.
12 The pastures of the wilderness overflow, the hills gird themselves with joy,
13 the meadows clothe themselves with flocks, the valleys deck themselves with grain, they shout and sing together for joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

