Land of Milk and Honey

Cooking with Honey by Laurie Dotson

So a couple of weeks ago, Pete and I spent our date night shopping at Costco. Not what you call romantic, but it was productive.  The great part of this excursion was the sales rep for Vitamix. Just standing in his big booth, creating sensational yumminess with a Vitamix.  Did you hear me, VITAMIX!   It has been on my wish list for the last few years and the big price of the amazing machine has kept it at the bottom of the list.  But, not this night!  No, indeed not.  So the beautiful salesman preached and created a refreshing fruit smoothie, then an amazing salsa, and then to sell us, a hot tortilla soup. All in the V I T A M I X!! And Pete was there experiencing the magic with me. We walked out with a cart full of fruit, VITAMIX blender and a big smile on both of our faces.  So everyday since I bought this machine, I have made a smoothie of some sort, everyday except once I made soup:)

Screen Shot 2013-04-21 at 10.15.06 PM

Tonight, I made this for Pete and our daughter Hanna

They gave me Two Thumbs and empty glasses!

The Coco Moco Hono Smothie

  • 1 Cup Almond Milk-  (No Lactate for me)
  • 1 Cup Double Expresso
  • 1 Banana
  • 1/2 Cup Cream of Coconut
  • 2 Heaping Tbsp Dark Chocolate powder
  • 1/2 Cup Coconut Flakes
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 2 Cups of Ice

Directions:

Add all the ingredients in order to the Vitamix.  Set to smoothie setting and hit start!  -If you don’t have a vitamix use your best setting to crush the ice..

Oh My Goodness, very delicious!

It made three 12oz smoothies.

Morning energy Smoothie

My Morning Smoothies are not as sweet.  I don’t like sweets much in the AM.

  • 3/4 cup water (add more to get the consistency you like)
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup pineapple with rind and hull included (great vitamins in the rind)
  • 1/4 Cup Chickpeas
  • 2 Tbsp hemp
  • 2 Tbsp flax meal
  • 1 Tbsp Honey
  • 1 tsp Pollen
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • Two cups of ice

Add to blender in order and blend.

Make a pot of coffee to drink along with that smoothie!

All smiles here and lots of energy to get me through until lunch.

Happy Eating- Honey !

A Vitamix, https://secure.vitamix.com/7500.aspxhas

