Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

Honey, sweet

But so much more

Designed by the Creator

This wonderful, miraculous food!

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea

As we have progressed in our beekeeping adventure, my quest for information has continued to consume my days.  It must be the teacher in me.  Or maybe it is genetic – my father was an “information junkie” and when CNN came to be, he was in heaven and watched it all the time!

I started collecting books about beekeeping and honey and other hive products – and reading, reading, reading.  While I have always lihoneyrevolutionked honey, I love it even more every time I read about it.  My favorite book, though quite technical and scientific is The Honey Revolution, by Ron Fessenden and Mike McInnes.   It is quite a tome and not easy to read, but great for info junkies like me.

They now have an abridged version, that only costs about $5, that is a quick read of the facts without all the scientific explanations and references.  Both are fascinating. honeyRevolution-ab

Here are some things I have learned:

Honey Facts

  • Honey really is metabolized differently than sugar or high fructose corn syrup! ( the opposite of what we are told on all those HFCS commercials on TV!)
  • Honey is metabolized more like a fruit than a sugar, in the body.
  • Honey stabilizes blood sugar.  It triggers a much lower insulin release than sugar or HFCS.
  • Honey is stored in the liver as glycogen, as provides fuel for your brain
  • Honey consumed before bedtime promotes restorative sleep.
  • Honey reduces metabolic stress by preventing or reducing the release of adrenalin and cortisol during sleep.

Now, if I could just apply all this great information and stop eating JUNK!!  I need to find some easy recipes for honey snacks!  I am an impulse eater and just look for the nearest, easiest thing to munch on!

Proverbs 24

13 Eat honey, my son, for it is good; honey from the comb is sweet to your taste.

14 Know also that wisdom is sweet to your soul; if you find it, there is a future hope for you, and your hope will not be cut off.

