Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

Smooth and creamy

Like velvet on the tongue

Just spread it on.

Look! No drip!

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

It’s ready! It’s ready!  I ventured down to the basement this evening to check on our new honey concoction.  I want to take it to a ladies knitting gathering for all to try.  I picked up a jar to examine.  I had read that you can tell it’s ready if it is creamy white throughout, with no layers of darker yellow at the bottom.  Halleluiah! It was ready.  I couldn’t resist twisting off the lid and sticking my finger in as I came up the stairs.  Ah, smooth and silky on the tongue!

I LOVE this form of controlled crystallized honey.  It’s called honey butter, creamed honey, spun honey, whipped honey by some – but it is really none of those words!  So we have decided to call ours – VELVET HONEY  so people will not think it has something added to it.   It is thick and set and spreads like butter on crackers, toast, whatever!  It still tastes just like liquid, dripping honey – because IT IS STILL  IS 100% PURE HONEY.  But it doesn’t drip.  It doesn’t get all over the jar and run down the sides.  It doesn’t get all over your hands when you spread it or eat it.  I find myself using it more often on toast or crackers or in anything – I think because subconsciously, I know I won’t be a sticky mess when I’m done!

Saum's Velvet Honey
Saum’s Velvet Honey

VELVET HONEY IS THE BEST!  Thanks, Laurie,  for “discovering” it!

 

Proverbs 24

13 Eat honey, my son, for it is good;
    honey from the comb is sweet to your taste.
14 Know also that wisdom is like honey for you:
    If you find it, there is a future hope for you,
    and your hope will not be cut off.

 

