Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

Keeping my distance

From bees and hive.

But learning is calling me

Honey on the brain.

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

During Steve’s first summer of beekeeping, he and the Dotsons each tended one hive at home, and visited the  OSU bee yard about once a month for some hands on training. Occasionally, I would go, too, mostly for the dinner out!  But man, was I learning a lot and getting more and more interested.

At home,   I watched from a distance and kept the notes.  We saw the colony grow and put up honey stores.  We knew that we could not harvest honey this first year, as the bees would need it all to make it through the winter.  It’s hard to wait.  Beekeeping can be a delayed reward endeavor.

And I kept reading.  I found a book called The Healing Powers of Honey by Cal Orey,  and devoured it!  It was an easy read, and told about the healing benefits of honey.  Honey for insomnia! Honey to heal burns and wounds! Honey for acne and headaches! Honey to help with heart disease, diabetes and cancer! AMAZING!!  This book also had lots of recipes for honey foods.The Healing Powers of Honey

I’m still not interested in doing the beekeeping thing, but this book got me started on my next research journey – honey for health and healing.

Jeremiah 17

12 But we worship at your throne — eternal, high, and glorious!

13 O LORD, the hope of Israel, all who turn away from you will be disgraced and shamed. They will be buried in a dry and dusty grave, for they have forsaken the LORD, the fountain of living water.

14 O LORD, you alone can heal me; you alone can save. My praises are for you alone!

