Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

Newbies, beginners, don’t really know what we’re doin’

But we’ll fake it and hope the girls will make it

Without us constantly viewing.

By God’s natural design, they’ll probably do just fine!

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

We (did you catch that? WE, not just Steve…guess I’m starting to feel some ownership of this reverie – er project!)  haven’t done a really great job of  staying on top of hive inspections this first year.  We may have bitten off a bit more than we could chew.  Steve planted a huge garden in 3 different locations in the yard that have required much, much tending and weeding.  Can you say – thistles!?  But oh, my do we have tomatoes, and tomatoes, and tomatoes , and beans, and cabbage and onions, and squash, and  . . .   It has to be the great pollination from the bees.  We’ve never had garden production like this.  We’ve spent a lot of time making salsa, and sauce and canning and freezing – Steve more than I.  I only have the summer for all my projects and gardening and household fix -ups and it’s almost time to start getting ready for school, again.

Tomatoes galore!
Tomatoes galore!

Fortunately, despite our limited hive inspections this summer, our hive of bees seems to be doing fine.  We didn’t really know just how to check for mites, but didn’t really see any problems.  We did see a few beetles, but dead ones, at least.

One thing I learned was that bees like curly hair!  I went out without my helmet and veil one time, just to watch, and the bees found me!  At least one got stuck in my hair and buzzed like crazy as I ran around the yard freaking out, yelling and brushing at my hair – trying it get it out.  Of course, in all the commotion, I got stung.  Man that hurt – no fatty flesh to absorb the venom!  I won’t go without a hat, again!

But did you know that they die, once they’ve stung you! Serves ’em right!

Psalm 65

11 You crown the year with your bounty,
    and your carts overflow with abundance.
12 The grasslands of the wilderness overflow;
    the hills are clothed with gladness.
13 The meadows are covered with flocks
    and the valleys are mantled with grain;
    they shout for joy and sing.

