Psalms from the Hive

by Jeannie Saum

How did it happen?

I can’t really say.

All I know is, I volunteered one day

To help with the bees

ME, a beekeeper?  Oh, Please!

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

I don’t really remember the day it actually happened.  What transformed me from being  just a supportive wife for her husband’s reverie – er hobby? I don’t know.   But somehow, one day this first summer of beekeeping, I actually VOLUNTEERED to go out and help with the inspection of the hive! I don’t know what possessed me!  I guess those bees really got under my skin!

I donned a long-sleeved shirt over my T-shirt, put on jeans with rubber bands around the ankles, my gardening gloves and my heavy helmet and veil.  I was ready to go, so out to the hive we went.  Steve put me in charge of the smoker, while he opened the hive and started pulling out frames.  Before I knew it, I was asking to hold and turn the frames, looking for the brood and the queen and the honey stores.  It was addicting.

Me! Helping?
Me! Helping?

I wasn’t really afraid, as I had worked around bees in my flower gardens for years.  At first , all the buzzing around you is a little disconcerting, but after a few minutes, with attention focused on what you are seeing, you kind of tune out the frenetic bees buzzing around you. And I had read that honeybees are not usually very aggressive.  They don’t usually sting unless squeezed or trapped.  I felt pretty safe and protected in my make-shift suit.

I did, however get stung on my hands a few times   – right through my gardening gloves!  I had worn the knit kind with the rubber palms.  Even though I had not squeezed them, I think their feet stuck to the scratchy knit fabric of the gloves and they felt stuck!  Oh, well, I’m tough!  A few stings I could handle.  Just treated them with toothpaste when I got in – though now I’ve heard, I should have used honey!

Gosh, I actually had fun!  Does this mean I might be a beekeeper after all?

Genesis 1

28 God blessed them and told them, “Multiply and fill the earth and subdue it. Be masters over the fish and birds and all the animals.”

29 And God said, “Look! I have given you the seed-bearing plants throughout the earth and all the fruit trees for your food.

 30 And I have given all the grasses and other green plants to the animals and birds for their food.” And so it was. 31 Then God looked over all he had made, and he saw that it was excellent in every way.

