Psalms from the Hive 

by Jeannie Saum

Strange boxes

Piled in the yard

Covered in paint that looks familiar.

Eager anticipation on husband’s face.

He can’t wait for bees to get here.

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

I came home from work today to see two piles of boxes stacked on the back porch.  I could hardly get in the door!  When I asked what the mess was, Steve informed me that he and the Dotsons had visited our local beekeeping supplier and bought their first hives, and hats, and 20140615_135218
gloves, and a smoker… and he got a hat with veil for me, too – just in case I would want to watch!!  AND THE BEES WERE ON THE WAY!!  Slapped in the face with reality – my husband has followed through and he is going to be a beekeeper.

The next warm days, Steve spent out on the screened porch painting the hive boxes with any leftover exterior paint he could find.  At least he found a use for ¼ full cans of paint.  Once this prep work was done, he proudly stacked the hive boxes with their frames about halfway down our 400 foot long front yard.

Now, he waits.  Our local beekeeping supplier takes orders from customers and drives down to Georgia each spring to pick up a truck packages1-300x225load of Italian bees and queens.  Steve missed the cut off for the first truck load, so he expects to get his bees in the second truck load a few weeks after the Dotsons.  He’s beside himself with excitement.  Bees are all he talks about and he wants me to be as excited as he is.  I work hard at staying aloof!

 

 

I do not need one more thing to do….I do not need one more thing to do…I do not ne..

 Psalm 62

1 For God alone my soul  waits in silence; from him comes my salvation.

2 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.

3 How long will all of you attack a man to batter him, like a leaning wall, a tottering fence?

4 They only plan to thrust him down from his high position. They take pleasure in falsehood. They bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse. Selah

5 For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.

6 He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.

7 On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.

8 Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah

