Psalms from the Hive 

by Jeannie Saum

He’s reading that book!

I know what that means

Getting way to serious

About keeping bees!

Clover, Bee, and Revery

Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

Oh dear, I think Steve’s really gonna do it!  He’s had his nose in a book – Beekeeping for Dummies – for days.  Every time we get together with Pete and Laurie the conversation turns to bees.  And Steve keeps interrupting my paper-grading with facts about the little creatures – as if I care!  Though I find it interesting, I am NOT going to encourage this bee reverie, so I just answer with, “uh-huh…”

Then, Pete and Laurie ask Steve to the next COBA beekeepers meeting, way up on the north end of town.  I decide I am way too busy with school work, to go.  And anyway, I do not want to know any more, lest I end up involved in these shenanigans.  I’ve got enough to do. Teaching elementary school is more than a full time job.  I don’t even have time to do the things I like to do, so no way am I going to get involved in another pet project of my husband’s that he starts and doesn’t finish!

Of course, he comes home that night, all pumped up about keeping bees.  And I’m starting to feel left out of the conversation when we get together with the Dotsons. . .

. . . and there’s that dumb book sitting on the table across the room… Beekeeping for Dummies… I wonder if it’s any good. . . ?

Psalm 25

12 Those who have reverence for the Lord will learn from him the path they should follow.

13 They will always be prosperous, and their children will possess the land.

 14 The Lord is the friend of those who obey him and he affirms his covenant with them.

 15 I look to the Lord for help at all times, and he rescues me from danger.

16 Turn to me, Lord, and be merciful to me, because I am lonely and weak.

 17 Relieve me of my worries and save me from all my troubles.

 18 Consider my distress and suffering and forgive all my sins.

19 See how many enemies I have; see how much they hate me.

 20 Protect me and save me; keep me from defeat. I come to you for safety.

21 May my goodness and honesty preserve me, because I trust in you

