Clover, Bee, and Revery

Bee-on-a-clover-flower_artTo make a prairie it takes a clover and one bee

One clover, and a bee,

And revery.

The revery alone will do,

If bees are few.

Emily Dickinson

Psalms from the Hive

By Jeannie Saum, with apologies to Emily Dickinson

Bees?
Not me.  Got enough to do.
A hive in my yard?
No thanks,  too hard.
Just a husband’s wild musings
Not practical, just dreaming.
Bees?
Not me!
 

 Reverie (revery) –(n.) state of dreamy meditation or fanciful musing; a fantastic, visionary, or impractical idea.

clover close“You know what I’d really like to do?  Have bees!”    How many times had I heard some version of this reverie from my husband, Steve, over the past 30 + years of marriage?   A  hundred?  A  thousand?   Every time we drove past a yard with bee hives, I heard it.   And it wasn’t always just about bees.  Steve’s musings covered a wide variety of ideas and visions over the years.

It always started with,  “ You know what I really want to do…”   and ended with all kinds of things, like –… have a boat,… raise chickens,… buy some land, …go elk hunting, …raise turkeys, …have a garden, … run a sporting goods store, …sell hand- made wood crafts, etc., etc.

My husband has always been a creative thinker, an incessant dreamer, but not much of an initiator.  I’ve always teased that his favorite pastime is watching the grass grow.  So, I learned early on from my dear friend, Chris, that the best response to his musings was, “Oh, cool, whatever…”, since most of his crazy ideas were unlikely to ever happen.

The joke was on me, though, as many of my husband’s wild ideas DID come to pass with varying degrees of success – turkeys in the garage, a project boat sitting in the front yard, (thistle) gardens of varying success…  And yes, a few of his visions came to successful fruition – 22 gorgeous acres of land with a cabin and his talent for turning out beautiful things with wood.  But those are stories for another day.

Keeping Bees??!!  The likelihood of that ever happening was pretty far-fetched.  But about three years ago I started hearing this mantra more and more often.  A nearby town started hosting a Honey Fest each fall, bee hives cropped up at country homes around our area, and I heard the dream more and more from my husband, who shared it with anyone who would listen.field of clover

My response was always aloof and non-committal.  At 50 + years old and in my 33rd year of teaching elementary school, I did not need or want one more responsibility in my life!  It was all I could do to keep up with my job, my house, my family, and my gardens and crafts.   I did not want to get roped into helping or being responsible for another project.  Fortunately, watching the grass grow still seemed a priority on Steve’s list of things to do, so I figured I was safe.

Until… our dear friends Pete and Laurie  got interested in the bee idea.  They’d heard Steve talk about it over and over and got interested.  Then Laurie and I visited the Honey Fest a few years ago, and she got hooked.  The next thing I knew, Pete and Laurie had signed up for classes in beekeeping at the local university.  And though my husband didn’t initiate the first plunge, once he had friends on board, he jumped in, too!  But bees? …Not me!

 

     Psalm 31

 1 I have taken refuge in you, O LORD. Never let me be put to shame. Save me because of your righteousness.

2 Turn your ear toward me. Rescue me quickly. Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me.

3 Indeed, you are my rock and my fortress. For the sake of your name, lead me and guide me.

4 You are my refuge, so pull me out of the net that they have secretly laid for me.

5 Into your hands I entrust my spirit. You have rescued me, O LORD, God of truth.

